Sign Up

Weekly Newsletter – August 23, 2019

Governor Abbott hosted the first meeting of the Texas Safety Commission, aimed at combating extremism and hate in Texas. He formed this commission in the wake of shooting in El Paso. Members include: Governor Abbott; Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick; Speaker of the House Dennis Bonnen; Senator Jose Rodriguez; Representative Mary Gonzales; Representative Cesar Blanco; Representative Joe Moody; Representative Art Fierro; Senator Joan Huffman – Chairwoman of the Senate State Affairs Committee; Representative Phil King – former police officer and member of the Texas State Guard; Colonel Steven McCraw – Department of Public Safety (DPS); Major David Cabrera – DPS Intelligence and Counterterrorism Division, Texas Fusion Centers; Major Manuel Espinosa, DPS Criminal Investigation Division, Texas Anti-Gang Centers; Matthew DeSarno, Special Agent in Charge, Dallas Federal Bureau of Investigation; Dr. Courtney Phillips, Executive Director, Texas Health and Human Services Commission; Ed Scruggs, Texas Gun Sense; Dr. Juan Martinez, Superintendent, Clint Independent School District; Jeff Murray, Protective Security Advisor, United States Department of Homeland Security; Dr. Lina Alathari, Chief, United States Secret Service National Threat Assessment Center; Dr. Susan Fletcher, Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists; Robert Chesney, Director and James Baker Chair, University of Texas at Austin; Neil Potts, Content Policy Team, Facebook; Tory Mayo, Lead Pastor, The Well Austin; A Representative From Google; Tom Tarantino, Head of US State Public Policy, Twitter; Lonzo Anderson, Assistant Chief, Dallas Police Department; and Karie Gibson, Supervisory Special Agent, Behavioral Analysis Unit, Federal Bureau of Investigation.


CLICK HERE TO READ: Weekly Newsletter – August 23, 2019

Dan Huberty's Response to Malicious Attack Video